This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mauritius

Mauritius is made up of 12 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mauritius. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mauritius.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mauritius alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mauritius

There are 12 regions in Mauritius in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mauritius
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Agalega Islands Agalega Islands1.289--
Black River Black River District2.70,046Tamarin Tamarin3,764
Cargados Carajos Cargados Carajos3.63Cargados Carajos Cargados Carajos63
Flacq Flacq District4.138,447Centre de Flacq Centre de Flacq17,710
Grand Port Grand Port District5.115,391Rose Belle Rose Belle12,619
Moka Moka District6.80,544Quartier Militaire Quartier Militaire6,424
Pamplemousses Pamplemousses District7.133,870Pamplemousses Pamplemousses8,836
Plaines Wilhems Plaines Wilhems District8.385,034--
Port Louis Port Louis District9.133,789Port Louis Port Louis155,226
Riviere du Rempart Rivière du Rempart District10.107,250Riviere du Rempart Rivière du Rempart11,675
Rodrigues Rodrigues11.36,403Port Mathurin Port Mathurin6,000
Savanne Savanne District12.70,158Souillac Souillac4,392